Manuel Dunkel Quartet

Manuel Dunkel Quartet

Manuel Dunkel Quartet plays the frontman’s melodic and intensive jazz compositions.

The quartet is formed by a set of experienced musicians in whose hands the tradition of jazz is moulded into subtle and stylistically fine‐ grained shapes. We have four distinctive, major voices of Finnish jazz making up a group whose strength lies, above all, in effortless swing and facile co‐ operation.

The first album with the current line‐up, A Step Forward (Texicalli Records), was released in early 2010 and it was also selected as an Emma Award nominee in the category of best jazz album. Manuel Dunkel’s expressive style has delighted audiences from 1990s onwards in a number of groups both in Finland and abroad. He has been a member of UMO Jazz Orchestra and Espoo Big Band since 1993. In 2011 the Finnish Jazz Federation granted him the Yrjö prize.

Manuel Dunkel ‐ tenor and soprano saxophone 
Alexi Tuomarila ‐ piano 
Antti Lötjönen ‐ bass 
Jaska Lukkarinen ‐ drums 

Comment on this artist

Share this artist